Google to soon let users instantly delete the last 15 minutes of Search history

Google is now rolling out a new feature, which will allow users to instantly delete the last 15 minutes of browsing history on mobile. This feature is available in the Google app for iOS, and is coming to the Android Google app later this year. The tool is not yet available for desktop users.

Currently, with auto-delete controls, one can choose to have Google automatically and continuously delete your Search history, along with other Web & App Activity, from your account after three, 18 or 36 months.

“For new accounts, the default auto-delete option for Web & App Activity is 18 months, but one can always choose to update settings,” the company said in a statement on Thursday.

Google said that when you’re signed in, you can now choose to require extra verification for My Activity.

“With this setting, you’ll need to provide additional information — like your password or two-factor authentication — before your full history can be viewed,” the company informed.

Google said that it will also proactively notify users if it discovers “that any of these passwords have been compromised and whether you’ve reused them across multiple sites”.

“In addition to keeping your data private and secure, we also work to keep you safe while you’re browsing and searching for information on the web,” the company said.

Google Safe Browsing helps protect over four billion devices every day by showing people warnings when they attempt to navigate to dangerous sites or download dangerous files.

How to delete the last 15 minutes of search history

Step 1: You just need to open the Google app and tap on your profile picture to access the settings menu.

Step 2: After tapping on it, click on “Delete last 15 minutes” and you are done. Google will delete the last 15 minutes of your search history.

How to manually delete search history in two steps?

While Google is yet to make the feature visible, you can manually delete the recent search history in just two steps. All you need to do is open the Google app on your Android smartphone and tap on your Google’s profile picture. You will notice a “Search history” option, which you need to click on.

You will then will be redirected to the Search history page and there you can manually delete recently searched content on Google. You just need to tap on the “X” button to delete the search history. When you delete your recent queries from the search bar, it’s also deleted from Google’s My Activity section.

How to delete search history on an hourly basis?

You also get an option to delete the search history of “Last hour” or “Last day.” However, these are only visible on a PC or laptop, and not on the mobile version. You can visit the myactivity.google.com website and then delete the search history on an hourly basis or day wise. Google even allows you to enable the auto-delete option for 3 months, 18 months, and 36 months. This option is available on the mobile version of that app.

How to clear your search history on Chrome

Step 1: On your computer, open Chrome.

Step 2: At the top right, click on the “More” button.

Step 3: You then need to click on History and then again tap on History.

Step 4: Now click on Clear browsing data and then a box will pop up on the screen. From the drop-down menu, you will have to select how much history you want to delete. To clear everything, select All time.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *